Start location: B8033, southeast of Knoxfauld (NS 885 930)
End location: Cambushinnie (NS 884 924)
Geographical area: Stirling, Clackmannan and Falkirk
Path Type: Urban Path
Path distance: 0.7km
Accessibility info: Suitable for pedestrians
Back to Search
This old path starts to the right of the Station Hotel on Alloa's Ring Road. It goes steadily downhill in a very straight line to the Royal Mail depot and joins into some other cycle tracks. Originally it would have gone to the docks but has been truncated at some point..
OS Landranger sheet 58 (Perth & Alloa, Auchterarder)
This old path is part of an old Waggonway that took coal from various mines in the Sauchie area to be shipped out of Alloa's port. It was first built in either 1766 or 1768 and was first used purley to link Alloa's glassworks with the port but later extended to reach the coal mines. Originally the Waggonway had only wooden rails, which wore out by 1785. At this point the rails were upgraded with a new track of rails made of fir plated with bars of Swedish Iron. These rails were able to take trains of three wagons, each carrying 1.5 tons and pulled by one horse.
At around 1810 the track was again replaced by one made entirely of cast iron. By this time each wagon carried only 1 ton in weight but one horse could pull eight of these at a time. The final set of new rails were made of iron and were installed in 1840.
Although the track was still used until the 1920s it was superceded by the railway station, which served the collieries and villages nearby. This path is fascinating for its survival in what is now an urban area. Its extension northwards, past the new Alloa railway station, is now called the Devon Way and makes for a very nice rural walk.